The Scroll, My Mirror, My Potential

I’ve written about the adverse effects of not chanting. Today, I’m happy to share the benefits that come my way, not only by expressing mantras, but sharing the cause of Buddhism with the public. I feel pride in receiving messages from people who say that they are able to identify with my challenges– They haven’t been able to utter their woes for fear of condemnation by others who want them to “suck it up.” Let’s not forget that it doesn’t hurt to have a bitch, like me, around to make their images look far more sparkly in comparison! Haha… I’m okay with that because my brilliance shines just fine when I look at my scroll of the Lotus Sutra and and its symbolism of being a mirror of my potential.

It’s no secret that I have been financially strapped. What you may not know is that when I’m on the verge of having to ration food to hold me over for a week or two until payday, money and support have appeared. This occurrence makes me smile and humbles the person who used to have a six-figure salary. I smile to think of Sting singing to me, “You’re too proud to beg and too dumb to steal.” I smile to know that when my stomach growls and I’m on the verge of sorrow, I never feel hopeless.

I have faith.

I know that somehow, things will be alright.

I once received a card from a friend that said, “When you’re at the end of your rope, tie a knot in it and hold on!” I loved that message. It’s the same one that comes to me from the Universe when I have NO IDEA how to get myself out of some predicament.

My “knot” is chanting with the confidence that I will overcome turmoil.

Case in point– my financial burdens grew heavier in the past few weeks. In an instant, my younger, annoying sibling who used to drive me crazy turned into a benefactor. I realize that she cares, but I’d also like to think that her generosity is because she knows that I’m “good for it”. This wasn’t the first time that “little sister” rescued me. What turned the situation extraordinary was receiving a random $1,000 check from some obscure group action civil suit against my previous mortgage company. I did not voluntarily participate, but was miraculously represented by an invisible firm who felt that I had been wronged sometime between 2009-2010.

Just think… I have been feeling down and out, but still chanting… and all the while, the Universe was brewing this little nugget of happiness in my favor. It took four years, but who’s counting? It came when it was supposed to.

Our benefits will always come when they are supposed to… not when we expect them.

I look at my scroll, its reflection of me and my potential and know that I can’t go wrong. I am blessed and my cause brings great effects.

~NMRK~

©2013 BitchyBuddha

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment